ATTENTION: If you have received a text from “Brown & Moore” alerting you to settlement funds, please be aware that this is a scam and was not sent from our law firm.

No Results, No Attorney Fee
704-335-1500 (Local)
800-948-0577 (Toll Free)

How Will You Pay Your Medical Expenses After a North Carolina Auto Accident?

Oct 11, 2016 Brown Moore Car Accidents

In most cases, there will be some injuries after a North Carolina auto accident. In some accidents, the injuries may be minor and require minimal treatment to recover. In other accidents, the injuries are so severe that you must be rushed via ambulance to the nearest emergency room. Then, there are those injuries that don’t require emergency care but are still severe enough to warrant significant treatment, rehabilitation, and recovery.

You might have to miss time from work. You might end up with a permanent disability. You might also have to worry about the medical expenses of your spouse or children who were in the vehicle with you at the time of the accident. There are many variables that can impact how much medical care you need, how expensive it will be, and what exactly you’re going to end up owing the various hospitals, doctors, rehabilitation centers, and more. So, how will you pay all of these medical expenses after a North Carolina auto accident? Read on to find out.

What To Do About Medical Expenses After an Accident

For most victims of North Carolina auto accidents, there will be two primary options for receiving compensation for the medical expenses that come along with recovering from the collision. These include filing a claim with your own auto insurance company or filing a personal injury claim against the at-fault driver and his or her auto insurance company. However, it may take time to receive a settlement from either source, and it may take even more time to receive compensation if you have to take your auto accident claim to trial.

Seeking Compensation From the At-Fault Driver

Legally, whoever is responsible for the auto accident is also responsible for your medical expenses. This involves establishing who is legally at fault for the accident that occurred. You can do this with police reports and investigators. An attorney can often assist you in establishing fault after an accident. However, even once you’ve determined who the at-fault driver is, that person will likely not have the financial resources to pay for your medical expenses. Here, we can see why North Carolina drivers are also legally required to carry auto insurance coverage.

The Auto Insurance Policy of the At-Fault Driver

Every driver in North Carolina is required to carry a minimum amount of auto insurance coverage in case they ever cause an auto accident. There are minimum levels of liability insurance required. Drivers must have at least $30,000 of coverage for bodily injury liability per person and per accident. Drivers must also have at least $60,000 of coverage for total bodily insurance liability per accident. Finally, drivers must have at least $25,000 of coverage for property damage liability per accident. Each driver also has the option of purchasing additional coverage in each of these areas. Furthermore, each driver has the option of carrying uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage to ensure that their expenses are covered.

Do You Carry Uninsured / Underinsured Insurance Coverage on Your Vehicle?

It is wise for all drivers in North Carolina to have some level of uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage (UIM) on their vehicles. This will ensure that you have the policy to turn to in the event that the at-fault driver does not have insurance or does not have enough insurance to cover your damages and medical expenses. If you do have this coverage, then you can count on it to be there when you need it, and minimize the frustration of discovering that not all of your medical expenses will be addressed by the at-fault driver’s insurance.

Do You Have Private Health Insurance, Medicaid, or Medicare?

It is important to keep in mind that even if the at-fault driver is responsible for compensating your medical expenses, it may take some time to reach a fair settlement. Many are tempted to accept the first offer because their expenses are piling up and they need the money. However, it is wiser to hold out for a more reasonable and fair settlement with the help of an attorney. In the meantime, you can turn to your own private health insurance, Medicaid, or Medicare to cover your medical expenses. You will be able to repay them when you do receive your compensation from the at-fault driver or their insurance company.

Contact Brown Moore & Associates, PLLC

If you’ve been injured in a North Carolina auto accident, you have a lot on your mind, including the ever-growing medical expenses that you must face. For assistance with seeking the fair compensation that you deserve, contact the auto accident attorney from Brown Moore & Associates, PLLC for a free consultation, today. We know how to fight for your right to compensation for your current and future medical expenses, as well as your pain and suffering, lost wages, and property damage. You don’t have to face this stressful time alone. We’re here to help.